Posted in Beach Read, Best Sellers, Mystery, Western Fiction

Wolf Pack by C.J. Box (Joe Pickett #19)

Publication Info: Published March 12th 2019, by G.P. Putnam’s Sons. My kindle copy purchased from Amazon.com.

Summary: After a debacle that ended in a cliff hanger in the last book, Joe is back on the job and things are starting to look better for him. In Wolf Pack, Joe is contacted by another game warden, Katelyn Hamm, whose district is just over the mountain from his. Katelyn observed a drone chasing deer and elk, running some of them to their deaths. While the incident occurred on her side of the mountain, she tracked the truck driven by the offender to Joe’s side.

Joe has his own issues trying to track down an illegal trapper. He traces the guy back to an odd and gated compound. When he goes there to find him, he meets up with nothing but misdirection and lies. The issue gets more complicated for Joe personally when he learns his youngest daughter, Lucy, is dating a boy who lives on that compound.

Meanwhile, a quartet of murderers for hire is also in town trying to do a job. The four would be almost laughable if it weren’t for their ringleader, a woman whose ruthlessness is disguised by her stunning beauty.

Toss in some renegade FBI agents, the murder of some innocent people, mapping technology gone awry and Nate Romanowski’s personal life and it all adds up to a bubbling cauldron of danger.

Comments: For me, the worst thing about this book is not having another Joe Pickett novel waiting for me. I’ve caught up with the series. C.J. Box has a few standalone novels and another series called The Highway Quartet. I’ll have to give those a try while I wait for Joe Pickett #20.

Tiny spoiler: My only major beef with this book was that I felt let down by the cliff hanger in the previous novel. I wanted to learn more about how Joe managed to get himself out of the last mess and it was merely glossed over in this book.

Highly recommended for fans of the series, mystery readers and those who like books with a Western setting. If you haven’t read any of these books, start at the beginning of the series.

Posted in Beach Read, Best Sellers, Fiction, Mystery, Western Fiction

The Disappeared by C.J. Box (Joe Pickett series, # 18)

Publication Info: Published March 20th 2018, by G.P. Putnam’s Sons. Kindle edition courtesy of my local library

Summary : Joe’s daughters are growing up. Sheridan, the oldest and a new college graduate, recently got a job at an upscale dude ranch. She lives there year round and works as a Wrangler.

Joe gets called into action by the new governor. A prominent British businesswoman has gone missing and she was last seen at the Silver Creek Ranch where Sheridan works. Joe doesn’t want to get his daughter involved but he knows she could have important information.

Meanwhile, at a nearby sawmill, the burner occasionally works into the wee hours of the morning. An unusual acrid smell — that of singed hair and vaguely like chicken — comes from it. This is noticed by an older woman who is then seriously injured in a hit and run.

At a wind farm, the largest in the country, their operations look a bit shady to Nate Romanowski, who is looking into the disappearance of local eagles and other birds for a couple of fellow falconers.

All of this comes together in another page turning book in the Joe Pickett series and little is as it appears to be initially. It also wouldn’t be a Joe Pickett book without something burning or blowing up on him. This time it happens in a more shocking way!

Comments: I continue to be a huge fan of the Joe Pickett series. The Disappeared ended on a cliff hanger and I had to immediately get the next book–the most current one in the series. I admit I fell for the trick!

Recommended for mystery readers and those who like books with a Western setting. I strongly recommend reading the series from the beginning.

Posted in Best Sellers, Mystery, Western Fiction

Vicious Circle by C.J. Box

Publication Info: Published March 21st 2017 by G.P. Putnam’s Sons . Hardcover copy courtesy of my local library. Other editions available. Joe Picket series #17.

Summary: Joe Picket had a deadly altercation with the Cates family in the 15th book in the series, Endangered. Now it looks like one of the few remaining family members is seeking revenge against Joe and his entire family in Vicious Circle.Vicious Circle CJ Box

It begins with a missing hunter, Dave Farkus. During the search for the missing man, Joe spots what appears to be a shooting from his vantage point in a plane. Shortly after this, he learns that Dallas Cates is out of jail. Sherriff’s Deputy Spivak reported that had seen Cates and Farkus together at the local bar and that it appeared that Farkus was getting ready to defend himself. Fearing the worst, Joe goes along on the ground search for Dave. The searchers find his body. The evidence points to Dallas Cates, who is subsequently arrested. But something is off. Cates is way too cocky and now has a high-powered, very expensive defense attorney. Joe wonders how he can afford him.

Meanwhile, April Pickett is in her college dorm room with her roommate, Joy. Joy answers the door wearing April’s jacket. She is attacked and nearly killed by a tattooed axe wielding woman in a hoodie. Joe subsequently sends his family into hiding.

There is only one man who can help Joe protect his family:  Nate Romanowski. But even Nate has trouble dealing with this ruthless killer.

Comments: This series just gets better and better. The author continues to develop his characters, making them more realistic. I am almost caught up on this series, which will be sad…because then I’ll have to wait for another one to be published!  But, I’m getting ahead of myself worrying about running out of the series. There are still two more books in the Joe Pickett series left to read.

I suggest reading this series from the beginning to fully understand the background and the characters.

Highly recommended for readers of Mysteries and Western Fiction