Posted in Beach Read, Humor, Popular Fiction, suspense, Thrillers

What Rose Forgot by Nevada Barr

Publication Info: Published September 17, 2019 by Minotaur Books. Hardcover edition courtesy of my local library

Summary: Rose Dennis wakes up sitting outside in a hospital gown and doesn’t remember how she got there. A young boy finds her wandering around dazed and dehydrated. Soon two men in white coats come and take her back to a facility where she is sedated.

As Rose drifts in and out of consciousness, she becomes aware she is in a memory care unit for early onset Alzheimer’s patients. She hears two people talking about her in the hallway — one of them says that Rose isn’t expected to live out the week. Deep inside her addled mind, Rose knows something is very wrong and begins to plot her escape.

Once she gets out, she contacts the two people she trusts: her teenage grand daughter and her older sister. Her sister, Marion, is an agoraphobic computer nerd and her grand daughter, Mel, is extremely resourceful. With Mel’s help, Rose heads to her house, the home she shared briefly with her husband until he died suddenly. Still full of unpacked boxes, the house is a temporary haven at best. She knows someone will be looking for her. When a man breaks in and tries to kill her, she realizes she must figure out who is behind the plot to get her out of the way before it’s too late.

Comments: This book was a lot more fun to read than the synopsis would suggest. What Rose Forgot is a bright and witty book in the usually tense and gloomy thriller genre. There are lots of unexpected wryly humorous twists and turns. It is obvious very early in the novel that there is nothing wrong with Rose’s mind and she becomes a very likeable main character — I’d love to have her as a neighbor!

Many years ago I read several books in Nevada Barr’s “Anna Pigeon” mystery series. This is a standalone novel. It was so much fun to read that now I want to go back and read her series again. I should start at the beginning because I have no idea which ones I read.

Highly recommended for readers of Thrillers and Suspense novels who are looking for something a little different. Mystery readers and those familiar with her other books may enjoy this too. I sure did!

My Rating: 5 STARS

Posted in Apocalyptic Fiction, Beach Read, Best Sellers, Contemporary Fiction, Popular Fiction, Science Fiction

The Warehouse by Rob Hart

Publication Info: Published August 20, 2019 by Crown. Kindle pre-pub edition courtesy of NetGalley.

Summary: In the near future, global warming has turned much of the country into permanent desert conditions. Small towns are nearly abandoned and cities are hot and overcrowded. After the Black Friday Massacre, when thousands of people were shot while doing their holiday shopping, people are afraid to leave their homes for even routine errands. Most brick and mortar stores have gone out of business except for the very largest ones and a few determined mom-and-pop stores.

One man, Gibson Wells, is behind the solution. He created mega centers where people live and work. Deliveries to homes outside of Cloud are made with a well-designed drone system. When people work for MotherCloud aka Cloud, they have everything they need right on the climate controlled property, which is described as much like an oversized airport terminal.

As the story begins, Gibson Wells is dying from cancer. He is taking his last year to visit his MotherCloud centers and greet workers personally. He has yet to choose his successor.

At one of the centers, two new employees have different agendas. Paxton has an axe to grind with Gibson Wells. Paxton invented a device that cooked a perfect hard-boiled egg. Cloud purchased the product and then undercut the prices time after time, putting Paxton out of business. He wants to meet Gibson Wells and give him a piece of his mind. Zinnia is a corporate spy, sent to discover weaknesses and deceit in Cloud’s power systems.

Paxton and Zinna find themselves unexpectedly sucked into the Cloud mentality. It seems to not be quite as bad as they thought. But slowly, they discover things that put their very lives in danger.

Comments: This is a whiz-bang, first-rate page turner! I romped through it in a single day. The author has created a very believable world, in which things that actually exist today are just taken to the next horrific step. The characters are all very relatable and the alternating chapters in their voices gives the reader a well-rounded perspective.

A bit of an amusing personal aside on current delivery systems, I’m currently waiting for a package delivery. The package was apparently farmed out to an individual who does deliveries after work. The building I’m living in locks the doors at 5 pm. This package is going round and round trying to get here. I’ve tried to resolve this problem, but haven’t been able to yet. It definitely would be nice if a drone could drop it on my balcony!

Very highly recommended for readers of General Fiction, Science Fiction, Apocolyptic and Dystopian Fiction, and Contemporary Fiction. It would also make a great Beach or Travel read and I’d love to see it hit the best-seller lists.

Director Ron Howard’s Imagine Entertainment has already opted to adapt The Warehouse into a movie. I don’t watch many movies, but I’m already looking forward to this one!

My rating: 5 STARS