Posted in Fiction, Happy Fiction, Light Romance

Wedding at the Lakeside Resort by Susan Schild (Lakeside Resort #4)

Publication Info: Published June 25, 2020 by Longleaf Pine Press. I read the Kindle edition through Kindle Unlimited. Other editions available.

Summary: A year and a half after inheriting lakeside resort property from her father, Jenny Beckett is starting to breathe more easily. Her advertising and posted social media reviews are bringing in some steady guests and income.

However, her fiance, Luke, is still stuck digging his former business partner out of messes. When Zander calls with another crisis, Luke feels obligated to go on a business rescue trip. With a new house to build and a wedding that’s only five months away, Jenny is overwhelmed by the details and getting pre-wedding jitters. Even though Luke is a wonderful man, Jenny wonders if he can really be there for her.

Comments: I absolutely adore this charming series set in North Carolina. The over-forty-something characters deal with life’s challenges with maturity and grace. By book number four, the Lakeside Resort feels so real to me that I imagine what it would be like to stay there for a few days with my husband! Since we’re fairly homebound during COVID-19, it was wonderful to have an imaginary getaway.

I really get a kick out of the author’s music references in the novel. She and I must have the same taste.

I hope Susan Schild is hard at work on Lakeside Resort #5. I need to get more details on Jenny and Luke’s quirky campground honeymoon trip! When my husband and I got married, we Bed & Breakfast hopped through several southern cities and found a few quirky places ourselves, including the World’s Largest Frying Pan in Rose Hill, NC. Maybe Luke and Jenny will see that, too!

Highly recommended for readers of light fiction, light romance and happy stories!

My Rating: 5 STARS

Posted in Beach Read, Happy Fiction, Happy Fiction, Light Romance, Women's Fiction

Summer at the Lakeside Resort by Susan Schild (Lakeside Resort #2)

Publication Info: Published May 15, 2019 by Longleaf Pine Press. I read the Kindle edition through Amazon’s Kindle Unlimited.

Summary: After her initial burst of guests and and enthusiasm, Jenny is worried about making a success of the Lakeside Resort. Her background was teaching, not property management or marketing. She is going to need some clever ideas and more than a small amount of cash to ensure a steady stream of lodgers.

Luckily, Jenny has some great friends with a variety of skills. One of her friends is a super bargain hunter, which helps stretch Jenny’s thin budget. A few more friends help her build a laundry facility, complete with flower boxes so it matches the cottages. One of her frequent residents hosts a writer’s workshop and another suggests a yoga retreat.

As the ideas flow and the guests respond, Jenny starts to relax a little — except for one major problem. Her boyfriend, Luke, flies off on an extended business trip to Australia, leaving her to deal with some major headaches — like getting a large, expensive boat back to the resort when she doesn’t know a thing about boating. Jenny also worries about her relationship with Luke, as the months drag by and he seems increasingly distant. But with the support of her friends and family, Jenny knows that no matter what happens with Luke, she won’t be alone.

Comments: Bright and cheery, Summer at the Lakeside Resort is the perfect getaway. I’d love to vacation there! It reminded me of some summer vacations with my parents. For a couple of years, my parents booked a tiny one-bedroom pine cabin near the beach. It was one of several on a dirt road. As an only child at the time, vacations could get a bit lonely, but these cottages always had other families. The feeling of temporary community made those vacations particularly happy and memorable.

The novel’s setting isn’t the only thing that made me feel relaxed and comfortable. The characters are older, very down-to-earth and relatable. The dogs are also amusing, but that miniature horse is absolutely adorable!

With continuing social isolation during Covid-19, I’m looking for books that take me to other places. Susan Schild’s novel was a perfect armchair getaway to a very happy, sunny place.

Recommended for readers of Light Romance and Happy Fiction.

My Rating: 5 STARS