Posted in Post-Apocalyptic Fiction, Thrillers

The Girl with All the Gifts by M.R. Carey

Imagine a world where humanity as we know it is gone. A fungal parasite has taken over the brains and bodies of people of all ages and no-one is immune. This invasive species turns people into zombie-like creatures who must eat flesh to survive. They are basically incapable of thought, with all of their actions driven by the need to feed.

There are a few exception to this, particularly in the young. The military and a female scientist are trying to figure out what makes these children different. The most outstanding is a girl who not only demonstrates high intelligence, but also emotion, compassion and love.

When a group of rogue, violent humans break into the military camp, the people most interested in the exceptional mutant girl take her and go on the run. Most of them want her to survive, but not all of them.

I am not generally a fan of shuffling, drooling, brain eating zombie books and movies. But The Girl With All The Gifts transforms the typical zombie theme into an exploration of what makes us human.

Recommended for readers of Thrillers and Post-Apocalyptic fiction.

My Rating 5 Stars, A

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s