The Testaments by Margaret Atwood (Handmaid’s Tale #2)

Publication Info: Published Sept 10, 2019 by Random House Audio. I listened to the audio edition through my Audible.com membership. Other editions available.

Summary: Told in alternating chapters and voices, we learn more about the background of Gilead, as well as some less-featured characters in the Handmaid’s Tale. One of the main speakers is Aunt Lydia. In the first book, she appeared as a formidable woman, completely toeing the Gilead party line. In The Testaments, the author explains more of Lydia’s motivations. We also hear from Offred’s two daughters, who lived very different lives.

I’m not going to give away more of the story than this. First of all, there are a lot of reviews and summaries. Secondly, there were enough surprises in this book for me to not want to give away too many hints.

Comments: I liked The Testaments, but be sure to read The Handmaid’s Tale first. This is definitely a sequel that requires the background of the first novel. I really enjoyed the audio version because the part of Aunt Lydia was read by Ann Dowd, who plays her in the TV show, adding a dose of “realism” to her story.

The Testaments is more filler than original material, but it does address several unanswered questions.

Recommended for readers of The Handmaid’s Tale, Margaret Atwood’s books, Dystopian Fiction, and Best Sellers.

My Rating: 4 STARS

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s