Posted in Historical Romance, Romance, Time Travel Romance

The Wonderland Series by Irina Shapiro

Publication Info:

  • The Passage (Wonderland #1) Published March 10, 2015 by Merlin Press, LLC
  • Wonderland (Wonderland #2) Published August 11, 2015 by Merlin Press, LLC
  • Sins of Omission (Wonderland #3) Published January 12, 2016 by Merlin Press, LLC
  • The Queen’s Gambit (Wonderland #4) Published June 7, 2016 by Merlin Press, LLC
  • Comes the Dawn (Wonderland #5) Published October 11, 2016 by Merlin Press, LLC

Summary: Neve Ashley is at Everly Manor scouting the house and grounds for a film crew. She meets the Lord of the Manor, Maximilian Everly. He greets her warmly, knowing that his finances partly depend on publicity for the manor tours. Over the time she is there, Max develops an attraction to her, but Neve doesn’t return his affections. This will eventually become quite problematic.

While exploring the nearby church and crypt, Neve accidentally pushes a button on the wall that opens a passage back to the 17th century. Curious, she borrows appropriate clothing from the manor’s stores and wanders back into the past. There she meets Lord Hugo Everly, a distant ancestor who bears a striking resemblance to Max. Hugo is much more charming and gentlemanly than Max. Neve and Hugo fall in love, which makes Neve choose a life in the seventeenth century. Although she adapts well, she isn’t prepared for the dangers that eventually threaten both of their lives — over and over.

Comments: A couple of months ago, I joined Audible Escape as an add-on to my subscription. At only $6.95 a month, I figured it was worth a try–plus I got the first month free in a promotion. I’ve never been much of a romance reader but I did enjoy the Outlander series many years ago. The Wonderland series has many of the same themes — time travel, love and romance, danger, disasters and very likeable characters. I listened to most of these while not sleeping. I discovered long ago that my hereditary insomnia is best treated with audiobooks, which keep me from fretting about being awake in the middle of the night!

I not only thoroughly enjoyed these books, but am looking forward to reading/listening to more by this author. Eva Kaminksy’s narration was perfect, too.

Overall, the books express the ideas and feelings of love and romance more than being overtly hot and heavy. If my memory serves me correctly, the few sex scenes in the book are between married people.

Additional remark– I confess I’ve gotten addicted to Audible Escape! I am discovering tons of new books and will be listening to and reading more romances in the future. I’ve also recently discovered a great blog for romance readers, Smart Bitches, Trashy Books.

Highly recommended for readers of Historical Fiction, Time-Travel Romances and Historical Romances.

My average overall rating: 4.5 STARS

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s