Exhume by Danielle Girard (Dr. Schwartzman #1)

Publication Info: Published October 1, 2016 by Thomas & Mercer. I read the Kindle Unlimited edition. Other editions available.

Summary: A woman is found dead in a San Francisco apartment. The victim is arranged on the bed in a yellow dress with a bouquet of yellow flowers. Her brown, wavy hair is fanned out on the pillow. As medical examiner Dr. Annabelle Schwartzman examines the body, she finds a pendant necklace and nearly faints. The necklace is an exact match for the one she wears daily. The cross with Star of David design was a one of a kind item…and yet, here is another. Between the necklace and the yellow flowers, Anna knows her controlling, abusive husband has found her again.

Comments: I’m not going to say much more lest I give away too much of the plot in this thoroughly creepy thriller. Exhume grabbed me from the start because I also hate the color yellow. I’m not sure why–maybe I was frightened by something yellow as a child, but the use of this color definitely added an additional layer of terror to this novel.

The detailed descriptions of the autopsies reminded me of very early Patricia Cornwell books — just a bit of warning if anyone is squeamish about that sort of thing.

I got this book free from Kindle Unlimited. The other three books in the Dr. Schwartzman series are also available.

Recommended for readers of Thrillers and Suspense novels.

My Rating: 4 STARS

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s