What Rose Forgot by Nevada Barr

Publication Info: Published September 17, 2019 by Minotaur Books. Hardcover edition courtesy of my local library

Summary: Rose Dennis wakes up sitting outside in a hospital gown and doesn’t remember how she got there. A young boy finds her wandering around dazed and dehydrated. Soon two men in white coats come and take her back to a facility where she is sedated.

As Rose drifts in and out of consciousness, she becomes aware she is in a memory care unit for early onset Alzheimer’s patients. She hears two people talking about her in the hallway — one of them says that Rose isn’t expected to live out the week. Deep inside her addled mind, Rose knows something is very wrong and begins to plot her escape.

Once she gets out, she contacts the two people she trusts: her teenage grand daughter and her older sister. Her sister, Marion, is an agoraphobic computer nerd and her grand daughter, Mel, is extremely resourceful. With Mel’s help, Rose heads to her house, the home she shared briefly with her husband until he died suddenly. Still full of unpacked boxes, the house is a temporary haven at best. She knows someone will be looking for her. When a man breaks in and tries to kill her, she realizes she must figure out who is behind the plot to get her out of the way before it’s too late.

Comments: This book was a lot more fun to read than the synopsis would suggest. What Rose Forgot is a bright and witty book in the usually tense and gloomy thriller genre. There are lots of unexpected wryly humorous twists and turns. It is obvious very early in the novel that there is nothing wrong with Rose’s mind and she becomes a very likeable main character — I’d love to have her as a neighbor!

Many years ago I read several books in Nevada Barr’s “Anna Pigeon” mystery series. This is a standalone novel. It was so much fun to read that now I want to go back and read her series again. I should start at the beginning because I have no idea which ones I read.

Highly recommended for readers of Thrillers and Suspense novels who are looking for something a little different. Mystery readers and those familiar with her other books may enjoy this too. I sure did!

My Rating: 5 STARS

2 Responses

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s