The Echo Killing by Christi Daugherty

Publication Info: Published March 13th 2018 by Minotaur Books. Hardcover edition courtesy of my local library. Other editions available for purchase from online and local retailers. This is the first book in the Harper McClain series.

Summary: Harper McClain is a newspaper crime reporter in Savannah, Georgia. Like newspapers all over the country, the one she works for is struggling. Each day Harper’s job is on the line as she struggles to get the scoop for page one, headline grabbing stories. The Echo Killing

One evening, while grabbing a quick bite at a local diner, she gets a call from her photographer partner, Miles. There’s been a homicide in a wealthy community. The details of the story are vague as the police process the crime scene, but one fact shocks Harper: the deceased woman was found by her twelve year old daughter.

Harper’s own mother was murdered in exactly the same way as this woman when she was the girl’s age–and she was the one who found her mother. It left Harper psychologically scarred. The case was never solved. Determined to not only write this story but possibly solve her mother’s murder, Harper risks her career and her life.

Comments: I can’t wait for the second book in the series! Harper is an engagingly flawed main character with real-life issues. Although the main plot line is resolved satisfactorily in The Echo Killing, there is a “stay tuned for the next installment” sort of cliff hanger at the end of this book. Christi Daugherty was a crime reporter in Savannah and other cities, and is the author of several well-reviewed young adult novels. She definitely knows how to write an attention grabbing story.

Highly recommended for readers of General Mysteries, Crime Fiction, Police Procedurals and Psychological Suspense.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s